Digital literacies pathway (step 1 and 2)

I got these results, but I think the questions were not enough to assess my true confidence. but I’d say the real reason why I am so confident in my abilities is not because I know every program that is, but because I know I can learn it regardless. My confidence is not in my ability to use, but in my ability to learn, which is a universal skill that apply to any type of software, or any skill basically. However, I don’t think the results are accurate. The reason why I have put comfortable in the “communication and collaboration” section is the mentioning of being in online forums and that is something I don’t do often

After reading the article Knowing the Difference Between Digital Skills and Digital Literacies, and Teaching Both I do agree with the distinction drawn between the digital literacies and skills. I think I have strength more in the digital skills, as I have mentioned above I believe that my true skill lies in learning. Although digital literacies require learning, but I see it need more of experience than learning. I could be using twitter as a social media channel to try and communicate with Gen Z for example, but I might learn after a month or two of weak reach, that I should have resorted to TikTok instead. I think I do lack knowledge in the literacies part, but just like the digital skills part, I do learn it when I need it.

An example I didn’t understand was in the “Using judgment” section were Wikipedia is mentioned. I do understand how some information might not be out because of influences, but why is this something related to the digital realm? I mean, a lot of books/news articles never get published because of political reasons for example.

I very much like the idea of teaching the students about digital literacies and I believe that one should be taught digital literacies before the digital skills. In my opinion the skills of rational judgement and awareness are not specific for the digital world but can also be used in day to day life, and hence they are more important to acquire than the digital skills. However sometimes, digital skills might shape the digital literacies as for some features might add a functionality that wasn’t there before (e.g. AI and how fast people can fact check).

Leave a comment

Issue is a magazine-style theme design that displays blog posts, reviews, artwork and news.

⏬

It comes with different styles to spark your creativity in making it just as you’d like to.

Designed with WordPress

MagBlog is a magazine theme focused on sizable type and imagery to expand your content. Make it yours ⏬

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started